Writers & Illustrators of the Future Blog

The purpose of this blog is to provide a forum for winners, judges, entrants and anyone interested in sharing information regarding the contests and the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future volumes. For more information you can also go to www.writersofthefuture.com

Monday, June 22, 2009

2nd Quarter Finalists, Semi-Finalists and Honorable Mentions

Dear All,

Here are the results of the initial judging. If you do not
find your name on this list, we will have a few more Honorables
come in and I will post them as soon as I get them.

drumroll please!!!!


Dario Ciriello of California
Simon Cooper of Antrim, Ireland
John Parke Davis of North Carolina
Jason Fischer of Australia
William Mitchell of London, England
Chris Tissell of Oregon
Susan Watkins of Oregon
Jeff Young of Pennsylvania

Finalists stories go to 4 of our final judges and 3 of
the above writers will be our winners for the 2nd Quarter


Sarah Adams of California
Shelley K. Davenport of Pennsylvania
Sara King of Alaska
Geir Lanesskog of Washington
William Ledbetter of Texas
Alastair Mayer of Colorado
Nikki McCormack of Washington
Tyler Powell of Oregon
Tom Rogers of Texas
Alvaro Zinos-Amaro of California

All semi-finalists stories are critiqued by our coordinating
judge, K.D. Wentworth.


Scott Andrews of Virginia
John Arkwright of Georgia
Bill Beauviche of Hunsingore, United Kingdom
Chris Boardman of Colorado
Jennifer Campbell-Hicks of Colorado
Louise Caroline Booth of Lincolnshire, England
Kenneth Cassell of Utah
Travis Coates of Calgary, Canada
Lisa Janice Cohen of Massachusetts
Spencer Cramer of Missouri
Vashti Brandy of Pennsylvania
Kathryn Brown of Arizona
Terry Burlison of Washington
Gwendolyn Clare of North Carolina
Kitti Cogswell of Virginia
L.J. Daly of Pennsylvania
Christopher Donahue of Texas
Jakob Nexo Drud of Denmark
Spencer Ellsworth of Washington
Robert Mitchell Evans of California
Katrina Forest of Pennsylvania
Carole Franklin of Michigan
Kelly A. Harmon of Maryland
Brennan Harvey of California
Judith Herman of Washington
Louise Herring-Jones of Alabama
William Hipp of South Carolina
Michael Hund of Pennsylvania
Peter Jessup of California
Emily Kajsa Herrstrom of Illinois
Erik Hoel of Massachusetts
Karrin Jackson of Oregon
Amy Power Jansen of Cambridge, England
J.C. Jenkins Jr. of Mississippi
Laura K.D. Jennings of Texas
K.J. Kabza of Massachusetts
Robert Laughlin of California
Anna-Lisa Macon of Massachusetts
Muri McCage of Tennessee
Scott Mikula of Washington
Nayad A. Monroe of Wisconsin
El Montaague of Missouri
Matthew Moore of Ontario, Canada
Mark Patrick Morehead of Colorado
Josh Morrey of Utah
Scott Overton of Ontario, Canada
Michelle Pang of Toronto, Canada
Douglas Sharp of Utah
Joseph Simmons of Texas
Steen R. Southard of Maryland
Lucien Spelman of Massachusetts
A.W. Sullivan of Kentucky
Brad Torgersen of Utah
Brian Trent of Connecticut
Helen Venn of Australia
Suanne Warr of North Carolina
Desmond Warzel of Pennsylvania
Cliff Winnig of California
L.L. Wise of Oregon

Saturday, June 6, 2009

WOTF Winner from Volume XXIV Patrick Lundrigan Wins Another Writing Award

Message from Patrick:

I have a bit of good news: I won second place in the Jim Baen Memorial
Writing Contest. The story that won, "Burst Mode," was quarter finalist
from a few years ago when I first started entering the contest. I
rewrote it before sending it out again, though. I had to put all the
great information I learned at the workshop to good use.

The contest announcement is here:

Monday, June 1, 2009

First Set of 2nd Quarter Honorable Mentions Announced

Dear All,

Here is the FIRST set of Honorable Mentions for the Second
Quarter of the contest:

Daniel Ausema of Colorado
Gustavo Bondoni of Argentina
Valerie Boss of Georgia
Robert Boumis of Arizona
Brent Bowen of Kansas
Alvin Chua of California
Murray Clay of Connecticut
Russ Colson of Minnesota
Erik Elness of Tennessee
Jim Hartnett of Minnesota
Dr. Philip Edward Kaldon of Michigan
Lancer & Shelli Kind of Washington
Sean Lovett of New York
Mary E. Lowd of Washington
Django Mathijsen of The Netherlands
Corbin Maxwell of California
Christopher Moran of Alaska
Eugene Myers of New York
Sandra Odell of Washington
Mike Phillips of Michigan
Angela Rega of Australia
Robert Santa of Rhode Island
Jeff Soesbe of California
Andy Spackman of Utah
Jason Wallace of Connecticut
Richard Wolkomir of Vermont

Congratulations to you all. Your certificate is on its way
now. More Honorables coming soon. Best, Joni