Writers & Illustrators of the Future Blog

The purpose of this blog is to provide a forum for winners, judges, entrants and anyone interested in sharing information regarding the contests and the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future volumes. For more information you can also go to www.writersofthefuture.com

Monday, March 5, 2007

The Art of Lorraine Schleter

Following is the art of 4Q Illustrator of the Future winner Lorraine Schleter of Ft Branch, IN. Her first illustration is titled "Morgan le Fay."

Her second illustration is titled "Samhain."

Her third illustration is titled "The Freak."


Lawrence Schliessman won the Writers of the Future contest and published his story "Cancilleri's Law" under the pen name Gabriel F.W. Koch.

"As a bookstore owner and a writer, I am very aware of how difficult it can be for a new author to get that first important break.

"Through research, I learned that L. Ron Hubbard started the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future contest in 1984 as a vehicle to assist new and aspiring writers enter the world of successfully published authors.

"Of course writing skill is required as is persistence. I entered five times over the years. Each time, I entered without great expectations and was surprised that I was one of the 2003 winners, and astonished at how hard the people at Galaxy Press worked to promote my work thereafter.

"This contest is a must for anyone, writer or illustrator, who loves working creatively in Science Fiction. "

Lawrence Schliessman


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home