Writers & Illustrators of the Future Blog

The purpose of this blog is to provide a forum for winners, judges, entrants and anyone interested in sharing information regarding the contests and the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future volumes. For more information you can also go to www.writersofthefuture.com

Wednesday, October 3, 2007

Contest Winner Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu has second novel published

A message from Nnedi:

Hi everyone. Just wanted to let you know that my 2nd novel, The Shadow Speaker, published by Disney's Hyperion, is now available at Anderson's Bookshop, Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, and wherever books are sold. I also have book signings scheduled (find my calendar at www.myspace.com/nnedi).

Some advance praise for the book:

As wildly inventive and suspenseful as her first novel, The Shadow Speaker is at the same time more ambitious and thematically complex, and represents a major step forward for a storyteller who, in the tradition of Octavia Butler and Nalo Hopkinson, is equally adept at combining that most contemporary of forms, science fiction, with the ancient beliefs and values of non-western cultures that have for too long been underrepresented in modern fantastic literature. -- Gary Wolfe, award-winning critic and lead reviewer for Locus Magazine.

There's more vivid imagination in a page of The Shadow Speaker than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics. -- Ursula K. Le Guin, author of the classic Earthsea series.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home